Free tool

Apiary registration by state

Apiary registration is the record a state keeps of who has bees and where. Inspectors use it to find yards when a disease turns up, and pesticide applicators use it to know where not to spray. Of the 51 jurisdictions here (the 50 states and the District of Columbia), 26 require registration, 3 require it above a colony threshold, 12 keep a voluntary registry, and 10 have no registration at all. Find your state below, then open its page for the date, the fee, the law and who to call.

Verified September 4, 2026. Rules change — confirm on your state's site before you rely on a date or a fee.

Each row prints the state's own cadence sentence and fee wording as we recorded them; nothing is normalized into a number. "Checked" says how the row was verified: high means read from the statute or the agency page, medium means from a search index or a statute mirror, low means not verified.

Required (26)

Every beekeeper registers, on the state's schedule. The "When" column is the state's own wording; the state page spells out the date, the fee and the law.

StateWhenFeeChecked
Alabamaannual, fixed date: register on or before October 1 each yearset by the Board of Agriculture and Industries by colony count — see ADAI portal (dollar tiers unverified)medium
Alaskaannual form (state re-issues the form each year; 2026 form dated Jan 1 2026)none listed on formmedium
Arkansasregister each apiary within 10 days of acquiring bees (or before moving bees in from out of state); re-register on any significant change of location/operation; nonresidents annuallynonehigh
Californiaannual, due January 1 (or within 30 days of acquiring/moving bees in); fees late Feb 1 with 50% penalty2026: 1-9 colonies $10 (waiver may be available), 10-50 $100, 51+ $250, broker $250high
Connecticutupon acquiring bees and annually on or before October 1none ($25 fine for failure)high
Delawarenotify within 10 days of acquiring bees; register annually on or before January 30not statedhigh
District of Columbiaregister within 30 days of establishing a colony; renew annually$10 per apiarymedium
Floridaannual; renew on or before the anniversary date of the certificate (invoiced 30 days before expiry)1-5 colonies $10; 6-40 $20; 41-200 $40; 201-500 $70; 501+ $100high
Illinoisannual; renew during November each yearnonehigh
Louisianaannual apiary permit; expires September 30 each year; also before bringing bees into the stateby colony count (residents cheaper than non-residents); amounts not published on pagehigh
Maineannual license; fee due June 15; valid 12 months expiring mid-Juneminimum $10 (1-10 colonies) up to $550 (7,001+)high
Marylandwithin 30 days of first obtaining a colony, then annuallynone ($0; optional donation to inspectors fund)high
Montanaannual; reregister apiary sites before April 1; delinquent after April 1 (penalty 10% or $10); registration forfeited if not renewed by June 1reregistration $10-$50 per site (hobbyist fee capped lower by statute)high
New Jerseyannual; certificates expire December 31none stated in rulehigh
New Yorkannualnot statedhigh
North Dakotabeekeeper license expires December 31 annually; notify commissioner of each apiary location before placing hives$5 license + $0.15 per colony assessmenthigh
Ohioannual; due June 1 (or within 30 days of acquiring bees); registrations expire May 31set by ODA (not in statute)high
Pennsylvaniaevery 2 years$10 for two yearsmedium
Rhode Islandannual; notify DEM not later than March 1none in statutehigh
South Dakotaannual; file before February 1, or within 10 days of acquiring bees, or before moving bees inset by DANR (not in statute)high
Tennesseeregister new apiaries; re-register every 3 yearsnone statedhigh
Utahapply within 30 days of taking possession/moving bees in; renew annually on or before December 31annual fee set by UDAFhigh
Vermontregister upon acquiring bees; renew annually by June 30 (notices mailed June 1)$10 per apiary location per yearhigh
Washingtonannual; register and pay by April 11-5 colonies $5; 6-25 $10; 26-100 $25; 101-300 $50; 301-500 $100; 501-1,000 $200; 1,001+ $300high
West Virginiaapply within 10 days of acquiring bees; certificates expire June 30 and renew annuallynone in statutehigh
Wyomingannual, fixed date: register before April 1 each year; a registration not received by May 1 is forfeited$0 for hobbyist apiaries (≤5 hives, 'nonfee certificate'); general apiaries per W.S. 11-1-104 (amount not fetched — see WDA)high

Required above a colony threshold (3)

Registration starts above a colony count. Below it you are exempt or voluntary; the state page prints the threshold.

StateWhenFeeChecked
Idahocommercial (>50 colonies): annual, on or before July 1; hobbyists exempt but 'highly recommended'$10 for up to 50 colonies + $0.10 per additional colony, plus honey advertising taxhigh
New Mexicocommercial apiaries: annual, on or before November 1$3 per apiary (max $200 per beekeeper)high
Oregon5+ colonies: annual, before June 1up to $10 per application + $0.50 per colony ($20 + $0.50 after July 1)high

Voluntary (12)

The state keeps a registry but does not require you to be in it. Most exist so applicators can find your yard before they spray.

StateWhenFeeChecked
Georgian/an/amedium
Hawaiin/anonehigh
Indianan/anonemedium-high
Iowavoluntary Sensitive Crops Directory (BeeCheck) registration expires December 31; confirm annually starting in Januarynonehigh
Massachusettsn/anonehigh
Nevadan/anonehigh
New Hampshireannual re-registration encouragednonemedium
North Carolinan/anonemedium
Oklahomavoluntary; register by January 31 each year$10high
South Carolinan/anonehigh
Texasvoluntary annual registration expiring August 31set by chief apiary inspector (TAIS)high
VirginiaBeeCheck registrations valid one calendar year; renew annuallynonehigh

No registration (10)

No state apiary registration. Some of these states have a voluntary map or a notification rule instead; the notes on each state page say what.

StateWhenFeeChecked
Arizonan/an/amedium
Coloradon/an/amedium
Kansasn/an/amedium
Kentuckyn/an/ahigh
Michigann/an/ahigh
Minnesotan/an/ahigh
Mississippin/an/amedium
Missourin/an/amedium
Nebraskan/an/ahigh
Wisconsinn/an/ahigh

Registries and inspector directories

Registration with your state is one thing; these are the voluntary maps and directories beekeepers also use. Links go to each program's own site.

Free tools

Questions beekeepers ask

Do I have to register my bees?

It depends on the state. Some require registration of every apiary, a few only above a colony count, some make it voluntary, and some have no registration at all. The tables above sort every state and the District of Columbia into those four groups; open your state for the cadence, the fee, the agency and the law it cites.

What happens if I do not register?

It depends on the state; the page for your state cites the law, and that citation is where any penalty is written. This site does not summarize penalties — read the statute or ask the agency.

How much does it cost?

It varies. Many states charge nothing, some a flat fee, a few a per-colony or tiered fee. The fee column in the tables is the wording found on the agency page or in the statute, printed as-is; where it says the fee is set by the agency or is unverified, call before you rely on a number.

Can I register in more than one state?

Registration is per state: each state's rule covers the colonies kept inside it, and registering in one state does not cover another. If you move bees across a state line, ask the destination state's agency what it requires on entry before you load the truck — this site covers registration only.

What are BeeCheck and FieldWatch?

FieldWatch runs a set of voluntary registries that map apiaries and sensitive crops so pesticide applicators can check before they spray; BeeCheck is its beekeeper map, and it is free for beekeepers. In a couple of states it is part of the official registration path; elsewhere it is separate from registration. The registries list above links the generic sites — your state page says whether it applies to you.

Why does every page show a confidence and a verified date?

Every row was checked on the date shown, and confidence says how: high means the fact was read from the fetched statute or agency page, medium means it came through a search index or a secondary copy of the law, and low means it could not be verified. Rules change between checks; confirm with your state before you rely on a date or a fee.

Who do I call?

Your state apiary inspector, or the agency on your state's page. If no phone is on file, use the contact page on the agency site. The Apiary Inspectors of America directory in the registries list names every state's inspector. For a suspected disease, a pesticide kill or a question about a treatment, the inspector is the person to call.

Is registration the same as a license to sell honey?

No. Apiary registration is about colonies and inspection. Selling honey falls under the federal label rules and your state's food rules — see the honey label checklist.

Bee Community

Take it to the bee yard

The app keeps your registrations and reminds you before the renewal date.

Bee Community is a free Android app for the bee yard: a logbook that works offline, reminders built from your own records and your region's season, a mite-wash calculator with the Honey Bee Health Coalition thresholds, a mite trend chart, and a treatment picker driven by EPA labels. Free for two active hives with no ads; Premium and Commercial add hives and tools, and nothing you record is ever locked.

Get Bee Community on Google Play

Android only. Weather and the season calendar are US-only for now. Beekeepers 18 and over. Nothing in the app is veterinary, regulatory or professional advice; the product label is the law, and your state apiary inspector is the person to call.

Questions or support: support@mybeecommunity.com

Nothing on this page is veterinary, regulatory, legal or professional advice. The product label is the law, and your state apiary inspector is the person to call. Photos, weather data and varroa guidance come from public-domain, Creative Commons and extension sources and are credited on the app's Credits screen.